flipping backward through the doors and through the windows

So Mike’s red truck is awesome.  It towed the house right outside on the sunniest of weekends a few weeks ago.  It didnt rain for probably 9 days after this, which was nice as it gave us time to get the roof on the house before the rain came down at all.  Lucky stretch of weather as far as this project is concerned.

It went successfully for the most part. We had to weigh down the back end to make it through the door (which we made by about 1 or 2 inches).  I may or may not have gotten audibly nervous as I was standing in the loft and Mike drove the house out.  A bit embarrassing, really…

I forgot to add this picture earlier. But I put a hammock up underneath the loft a few weeks back and it’s been a great place to relax inside the house. Love hammocks. And Torpedos (thank you, Reese).

Some bros came over the next day and helped out putting up some of the sliding window doors (that are converted to regular hinged doors now):

Front door here:

That night, sleeping under the stars, in the house, was great. Albeit waking up was a bit dew-y:

Roof rafters started to go up. Took a while to find the angle on this odd little house to make the rafters vertically level, but after some tinkering with the saw and going back and forth it worked. Then I just traced one of the rafters over and over onto the others so that they’d be consistent. The roof is the squarest part of the house somehow, which is nice?

The plywood followed soon thereafter so that walking on the roof was a possibility even though the rest of it wasnt done. It helped to have that open space there to get the plywood up there at first, and then one at a time as the rafters were put up. Wouldnt recommend this for every style but it worked for this type of shed roof.

I used this kind of rafter ties/braces. Dont know what they are called but they did the trick for me.

A view of the loft space with the little window for air flow and morning sun:

… and taking a step back:

Then the 15# tar roofing paper went down:

We then put on the roofing, which is tin style sheets, but I didnt take a picture of it for whatever reason. It’s brown, you can visualize with your brains…

Switching gears, I installed the propane and stove. I think this is where I say you should get a licensed person to deal with propane, because that ol gas can get dangerous of not dealt with properly.

The image below is my 3/8″ outside diameter copper piping. It is flared at one end (using, what I believe is called a flaring tool) so that it might meet up with the brass fitting that went into the stove. Putting the nut on before is necessary because once it’s flared, one cannot place the nut onto the copper piping. The other end is flared too, to fit on the two-stage regulator that fits right into the propane tank (same one used for a grill). I was really psyched to get this done because nobody (and I’m talking other tiny house/microhouse bloggers, hardware store people, gas suppliers) could really offer ANY help, until one of my former professors broke it down for me. Very simple procedure when you have just one appliance. Which is the case for me:

The stove and the first location of the fridge:

Which I then moved, realizing I wanted a bar-style table spot at the end of the kitchen counter. I used a sugar maple limb to prop the end up. Sustainably harvested of course:

A view of the kitchen, as it stands now:

Mike putting up some fascia board. Bought the pre-primed pine stuff. Seemed like the easiest option and worked out really well:

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “flipping backward through the doors and through the windows

  1. Alisha

    It’s looking great! Nice work! I really like branch holding the counter up…cute style 🙂

  2. Uncle Tim

    Awesome work. Nice support from friends. That is how it works! Keep it up.

  3. Shan

    I’m melting into nothing …

    Sorry, just had to continue the lyric.

  4. Mom

    Charming! Can’t wait to visit in October and see the result of the Kirk brothers’ and friends’ hard work. xo

  5. T. F. Patterson

    Nice work, Danny. When are you putting in the dishwasher?

  6. Dave

    Kitchen looks awesome and yeah, the tree limb is a sweet touch

Leave a comment