A form in my window (in my window)

Life got in the way.  Sorry.

So, I got sprayfoam insulation, for obvious reasons.  As it turns out, there are are some not so obvious benefits, like adding structural integrity.  If I did this all again, I would use fewer studs (24″ OC probably), since the plywood, the insulation, and the siding (as you will see) all add more structural integrity to the whole thing.  And it’s lighter with less material used.

Sprayfoam insulation, below.  Some in art-deco green, the rest in seafoam cream.  The insulation was done by the intelligent, effective, on-time, and down-to-earth folks over at Building Energy.  Check them out if you’re in Vermont and want a house that is more efficient than your neighbor’s.  They work all over the state.


 

Larry came up for a weekend to hang out and help out as did my parents, from Philly.  A little Tiny House work, a lot of good food consumption, and good company.  They helped out in a HUGE way (with Mike on siding duty as well) and got my siding all ready to go on the house while Brie and I figured out how to keep water out from the window openings and Fred and Dave sealed up all of the siding boards in the barn before we put them up on the house.  Mike and Rusty were in charge of hardware store runs, but Rusty didnt do anything except sleep in the car and feel a certain sense of Vertigo.  Many many many thanks to this group of folks giving their time and energy for my benefit.

 

Below, Larry is ripping the shiplapped edge off of the siding to run horizontally at the bottom of each wall.  This was recommended by the guy at the lumber yard (A. Johnson in Bristol, practicing sustainable forestry)

The first pieces installed, with a conference regarding next steps.  The lumber guy also said to slap this stuff right on the wall.  I was skeptical at first, and I still am, regarding breathability.  But what he said was what I did.  It’s what he did on his own house and all of the boards were coated in clear stain to maintain their shape and to repel water and sun damage.

Dave and Fred came out, clad in their Catamount gear.  Their help was great in getting all of the siding ready to be installed.  It would have taken me two weeks to get all the stain painted onto the siding, and these guys made quick work of it.

 

Brianna, measuring out before the installation of the Grace Ice and Water Shield:

Fred, making sure I dont electrocute myself:

Mike, making sure the corners lined up nicely.  Which they did, and it looks awesome.  I surely would have not been able to pull this off alone.

Heyyy Rusty!

In order to make the windows seal shut, I used these premade door jamb pieces that have a foam insulation strip already insterted into the jamb.  I just cut it to size, and notched out the foam seal to make sure that all of the window was covered.  It could be more crafty in its installation, by cutting 45′s at the corners, but I didnt do that, that would be too skilled.

Outside of the window.  I rigged up some flashing to cover the sill of the window, and put tons of caulking behind it and in the corners to really seal out the water.  The windows are framed in with 3 1/8″ pieces of the siding just ripped down.

And here is what the house looks like in the sun:

The windows that you see have foam board insulation to keep out the rain in the photo, but now I have installed plexiglass on the inside and outside to create an air barrier until I have the means and drive/desire to build in windows.  That will be in the spring.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A form in my window (in my window)

  1. Very nice work Dan. Welcome back to the blog-o-sphere.

  2. Hello Dan. We’ve been following your progress, and it’s looking great so far! May we have your blessing to post a link to your blog from ours? We’d like to put up a page highlighting other’s projects for the folks following ours. Thought it would be neat.

    Best of luck to you as you continue your project,
    Evan Coulson

    http://evanandgabbystinyhouse.wordpress.com/

  3. dk

    Hi Evan and Gabby,

    Absolutely! Good luck with everything. I am on somewhat of a hiatus for the wintertime, but will be cracking away again once the spring hits.

    Cheers
    Dan

  4. Ben

    Hi Dan,
    I have been following your site for the last year or so during the construction of my own tiny house. Your blog, along with several others, really inspired me to build and finish my house, so thank you for that. I’ve started my own blog sharing my own process, but it’s really dedicated to people like you who helped me along. Good luck with your project, and I’m looking forward to hearing from you.
    Ben

  5. dk

    Hi Ben,

    Thanks for the kind words. I recently relocated the house to a happy new space (the place it lives is pictured in the banner at the top of this blog’s homepage). It’s being leased to own by a young guy starting an organic farm in Vermont, which is really great. It’s truly the spirit of the project to live somewhere like that.

    What is the link to your blog?

    Cheers
    Dan

Leave a Reply

